## **SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES**

# **BOARD OF DIRECTORS - WHEAT BELT PPD**

# **MARCH 12, 2021**

A Special meeting of the Board of Directors of Wheat Belt Public Power District was called to order by President, Brian Zimmerman, at 8:30 a.m., Friday, March 12, 2021, at the District Headquarters, 11306 RD 32, Sidney, Cheyenne County, Nebraska.

### **ROLL CALL**

The following Directors were present:

Toni Blomenkamp Moe Moffat Brian Zimmerman Marcus Milanuk Stuart Morgan

Also present were Lacey Gulbranson, Interim General Manager, Earl Reilly, Operations Manager, Carolyn Hostetler, Chief Financial Officer, Ryan Borges, Staking Engineer, Jim Weeda, Manager of Technology, Kelli Chaon, Customer Engagement Manager, and Jason Weigle, Business Support Analyst.

Debra Schlaman recorded these Minutes at the request of the Board Secretary.

All stood for the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

President Brian Zimmerman declared a quorum present.

Attention of the Directors and attendees was directed to the Open Meetings poster.

#### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moffat made a motion to approve the Agenda as presented. Milanuk seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Yea: All present. Motion carried.

# NOTICE OF MEETING

Notice of the Special meeting was by publication in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph on Wednesday, March 10, 2021, and proof of publication showing such notice as published is attached and thereby made a part of these Minutes. Milanuk made a motion to waive the reading of the meeting notice. Morgan seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Yea: All present. Motion carried.

#### INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS

Kendra Strommen

# **Public Hearing & Comment Period**

No one appeared before the Board.

### **Board Member Appointments**

Selection Committee member Morgan reported on the interview questions and process that was used to narrow the nine candidates down to four. The committee could not reach consensus on preference of order regarding the four candidates, so the entire slate was provided for consideration by the full Board.

A motion was made by Morgan to approve Cary Linton, Jennifer Eckhart, Regina Narjes and Sean Blackburn as candidates for the Wheat Belt Board of Directors. Milanuk seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Yea: All present. Motion carried.

Secret ballot voting was conducted and Weigle and Gulbranson tallied the votes. Jennifer Eckhart and Sean Blackburn were selected as the two appointees. Due to a tie for the alternate, a second round of voting was conducted. Cary Linton was selected as the alternate appointee.

Zimmerman made a phone call to Eckhart and Blackburn and they accepted the positions.

## **General Manager Search**

Zimmerman reported that he received another application today which brought the total to sixteen. A selection committee will need to be established per Policy D-4 to begin the process of reviewing all of the applications.

Gulbranson will obtain Wheal Belt employee names who would like to be on the general manager selection committee and present them at the March 26<sup>th</sup> Board Meeting.

#### **Executive Session**

An Executive Session was called at 8:52 a.m. by Moffat to discuss a FERC Settlement matter. Milanuk seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Yea: All present. Motion carried.

Gulbranson and Strommen remained for the Executive Session

Board Minutes –March 12, 2021 Page 3

A motion was made by Milanuk and seconded by Blomenkamp to resume the meeting at 9:17 a.m. Roll call vote: Yea: All present. Motion carried.

### FERC Settlement Offer on the Stated Rate Tariff Case

A motion was made by Milanuk to send United Power Inc. a letter explaining that Wheat Belt would like to accept the Tri-State settlement offer and that Wheat Belt would like United Power Inc. to also accept the Tri-State settlement offer. Moffat seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Yea: All present. Motion carried.

The next Regular Board meeting will be Friday, March 26, 2021, beginning at 8:30 a.m.

### MARCH SPECIAL BOARD MEETING ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Board, the President declared the meeting adjourned at 9:20 a.m.

ATTEST:		
Brian Zimmerman, President	Brian Moffat, Secretary	